15 thoughts on “Give us your opinion!

  1. I listen to podcasts at work all the time. I only have a select few, like The Morning Stream that hold me for more than an hour. We Launch our podcast this Monday and we plan on keeping our shows between 30 to 45 minutes. We will also only be posting bi-weekly to start. Not sure if that helps but I thought I would share.

  2. I have no pod… 😦 From days gone by and not knowing what you discuss on your podcast, I would say that one hour is good. Anything longer than that, unless the topic is riveting, you will lose audience…Or, give less with that tease that will bring folks back to listen to the next podcast…

    Be that as it may, I wanted to thank you for signing up to follow my blog! I hope that you will enjoy my posts! – B

  3. I wanted to vote for one hour also, but having only the choice of less than an hour or 1.5 hours, I chose 1.5 hours. You can cover a lot of ground in an hour. Less than that and you’re rushed. More than that and it can get repetitive. I do listen to a lot of podcasts, and it would seem to me that right at an hour would be perfect, give or take a few minutes.

  4. Record at 1.5 hours and break them up, more releases. 45m part 1 and 45m part 2. The average listener consumes about 30-45 min before abandoning an episode. That’s not to say your most devoted fans won’t stick to the very end of 3 hour shows, but if the desire is to gain listenership, less is more. If you have access to metrics (Stitcher does a great job with this) look to see what your average listen time is, and tailor your show around it.

  5. 45 minutes is personally ideal but I’d say up to a maximum of 1 hour. Otherwise, it’s difficult to eke out enough time to listen in one sitting and/or you lose the listener because the information hasn’t been presented succinctly enough. Also, you’re more apt to get the listener to tune in for subsequent podcasts because they’re not marathons.

Leave a Reply

